THIS LITTLE GIRL’S GONE ROCKIN’

10 12 2006

 by Anita Marie Moscoso     

                                        dancing_skeletons.gif

Here I am, getting ready to start another writing project and getting ready to once again pray that the target I’m trying to hit is as big as the side of an Ocean Liner because I can promise you that no matter how clear and concise the instructions are for this “ Writing Journey” I’ll botch it up.

Like I did this writing exercise at the Soul Food Café where I was suppose to write about bottled emotions and to my credit I did write about bottles  (so far so good) that were in a Curio shop.

 Of courseinside of the bottles were tumors and three headed cats and I think a baby alligator with a human face. ( https://anita64.wordpress.com/2006/06/18/the-witch-of-white-ash-mountain/)

What…you wouldn’t have some feeling about seeing that?

Myself, I love that kind of thing. Other people…well, you know most people have delicate sensibilities and wouldn’t like seeing organs on display for fun and profit.

But you’d feel something.

Wouldn’t you?

Oh, and this other time we were suppose to write about taking a journey with a Ferry Woman and learning some kind of truth or wisdom on the trip and I wrote about a woman who killed her husband because of the way he buttered his toast.   https://anita64.wordpress.com/2006/06/18/datura-manzanillo-walks-alone/

I justified that one by writing my friend into the beginning of the story (she really does work on a ferry boat). So I thought, “hey it works”.

So before you write me off as a total brain dead idiot I want to assure you I did learn something on that particular ‘journey’. I learned on that ‘journey’ that a lot of people are into the twisted and macabre and that as lame and cliché as ” Datura ” might read it’s one of the most popular on my blog so there!

Now, back to the project at hand; as I pack my ‘bags’ for my “Journey” I’m going into it stress free. In real life I will only travel if I can do it with a smile on my lips…I see no reason to change horses midstream and start this journey with a bag full of worries.

I won’t be hearing myself say, “ what if I’m not good enough to write?” (Ha, ask me if I care about that. I happen to READ A LOT and I’m here to tell you that hasn’t stopped about a gazillion books and articles in magazines from being published on any given day of the month)

And I’m determined to be myself; I’m going to write any story that is dumb enough to wander into the black abyss that is my imagination. I’m like one of those predatory animals that weeds out the sick and old and anything not strong enough to run to save it’s own life.

If I can catch it, dude…it’s all mine.

I know my stories are very odd and they are most definitely weird and some of my nearest and dearest  have this look on their faces when they visit me and I know just KNOW they’ve read something I’ve written.

I don’t care because when I write I happen to have a very good time.

I laugh at the gross parts, the bad parts, the titles…you name it. I laugh when I write because I happen to enjoy what I’m doing. I also happen to take what I do very seriously.

Yes, I can hear it now ” sure you do Anita, sure you take writing seriously” Well, it’s true…so there.

There it is in all it’s glory…my travel list.

So I’m set.

What am I taking with me on this journey? What am I packing?

A sense of humor, that’s what I’m packing…and now here’s the ‘note’ I’m leaving on my door.

In the words of the magnificent Ruth Brown:

 THIS LITTLE GIRL`S GONE ROCKIN` –


I WROTE MY MOM A LETTER AND THIS IS WHAT I SAID…

WELLA WELLA WELLA WELLA WASHED ALL THE DISHES AND I DID A LOT MORE,

 I EVEN BOUGHT THE DINNER AT THE GROCERY STORE.

AND NOW, MOM, YOU`LL FIND THE KEY NEXT DOOR,

 THIS LITTLE GIRL`S GONE ROCKIN`.

 I LEFT SOME BISCUITS FOR THE PUP, I PUT FRESH WATER IN HIS CUP.

AND NOW I`M OFF, I`M GONNA LIVE IT UP, THIS LITTLE GIRL`S GONE ROCKIN`.

WELL, I`LL BE HOME ABOUT TWELVE TONIGHT, AND NOT A MINUTE, MINUTE LATER,

DON`T FORGET THE FRONT DOOR LIGHT, THAT`S ALL FOR NOW, I`LL SEE YOU LATER, GATOR.

YOU`LL FIND EACH THING THAT YOU WANTED DONE, I`M OFF TO MEET THAT SPECIAL ONE.

AND BOY OH BOY WILL WE HAVE FUN,

`CAUSE THIS LITTLE GIRL`S GONE ROCKIN`.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 12 2006
Heather Blakey

Now Anita Marie – this would have to be one of my favourites. It so sums up who you are and how you think. Cool darling!

13 12 2006
traveller2006

I love your “weird” stuff – keep on writing, please

Leave a Reply

